Home    |    About Uganda    |    Contact us    |    Sitemap
Uganda is a Republic having gained her independence from Britain on 9th October 1962. Uganda is a member of the United Nations, the African Union, the Commonwealth, the Organization of Islamic Countries, the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) and the East African Community (EAC).

The Arms of Government
The Republic of Uganda has three main pillars of government namely: the Executive, the legislature and the Judiciary

uganda The Executive
  The President is elected every five years and he heads the Executive arm of government.
The President is a Head of State.
He appoints the Ministers and he is also the commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces.
He is deputized by the Vice President, and a Prime Minister who is the leader of Government business, co-coordinating all Government activities in Parliament.
uganda Cabinet List
  The cabinet list will be posted on this web-site as soon as the President appoints the new Cabinet.
uganda The legislative Arm of Government
  The Parliament is the Legislative arm of government. Parliament is presided over by the Rt. Hon. Speaker and he/ she is deputised by the Deputy speaker. Both are elected by the members of Parliament from their number.
Parliament consists of 345 members when fully constituted. The majority of the members are elected through the universal suffrage. Uganda has just held a successful general election, on 18th February 2011.
The Parliament also has provision for special interest groups namely: District women representatives, the armed forces, the disabled, and the youth are elected through electoral colleges.
The new Parliament elected in February 2011 will be the 9th Parliament. For more information .
For more information on Parliament visit; www.parliament.go.ug


  The Judiciary is the third arm of Government. It exercises the judicial authority and is independent from the other two arms of government. The Chief Justice heads the Judiciary and is deputized by the Deputy Chief Justice.
Visit the Judiciary website at www. judicature.go.ug